My New Year’s Resolution is to commit to a daily yoga practice 6 days a week.

From 2008-2010, I enjoyed a Mysore Ashtanga practice at Miami Life Center with Tim Feldmann.

‘My passion is finding the key to each students individual practice and to help unlock the idiosyncratic restrictions and constraints he or she might feel in asana practise and in daily life’ - Tim

Tim is an amazing teacher and I really miss practicing with him and all of the lovely people at MLC. His approach to yoga is beautiful: teaching you the delicate balance between knowing when to push and when to surrender, giving you much needed instruction, encouragement and enlightenment thru the power of humor.

I learned so much about my body, my spirit, my soul and the limits that I myself put on my life and my practice. I compare my yoga practice to the ice on a windshield formed after a cold night. You turn on the heater and run the windshield wipers and wait patiently for the pieces to chip away. As a child, I loved to watch the process. It’s only fitting that later in life I have learned to enjoy the “onion peeling” process that is Ashtanga yoga. I have seen how a daily practice transforms the “impossible” to the “possible.”

However, I’ve learned that it’s no fairy tale. Getting on the mat everyday is like sitting in front of the mirror with no make-up. You see yourself, your approach to life, your fears, your anger, all of the ugly stuff you try so hard to cover up with a smile and all of the other tricks we’ve learned along the way. Sure, there’s a honeymoon phase where the release of tension, the awareness of breath, and the thrill of performing an asana produce a euphoric quality. But then it becomes a real marriage where the thrill is replaced with a deeper sense of meaning. I got to this point and burned out. I became fickle with my practice and never progressed. I have yet to finish the primary series.

Furthermore, after a tumultuous 2010 where I ended a career in Latin music and a romantic relationship, I relocated back to my home state, Texas, after a 10 year absence. So, although I am familiar, I really am a newbie. I recently started a new job and I am slowly getting back on my feet.

I did my first mysore class at Dallas Yoga Center this morning. As I drove over to the yoga studio, my thought was, “I release my expectations and  allow this moment to be unique.” My experience will not be the same here as it was in Miami, but that doesn’t mean it won’t be just as special. I allow myself to be open to this new chapter of my life knowing that it will be different, but that isn’t a bad thing. I don’t know where this road will take me, but I know that I am always connected to God and that the power of love will prevail.

Carpe diem.

