Funny story: I planned on getting off at 5 PM to give myself plenty of time to make it to the 6 PM Ashtanga Basics class. However, as life would have it, I got stuck in a last minute meeting and did not walk out of the office until 5:30 PM. Great. How am I going to make it from North Richland Hills to Dallas in half an hour during rush hour traffic?

 

So the whole time I was sweating it. I even changed into my clothes at a red light. Put my sports bra over a shirt and ran into the class 5 minutes late. That’s bad yoga protocol and I felt so bad for crashing the class, but luckily they were still on Sun Salutation A. It took me forever to calm down and focus on the moment.

I keep reminding myself that this is the 3rd Ashtanga practice that I’ve done in over 6 months. I need to have compassion on myself, but it’s so hard because I remember where I was and I see where I am now and it disgusts me. You know how you have to wait in the car while the windshield wiper gets the ice off the window? That’s how I feel. I feel like I’m surrounded by ice and I’m waiting for it to melt to reveal my true self.

I also am still having a hard time practicing here, but it’s a process. It’s an opportunity to practice detachment and to embrace where I am now at this point in my life.

So, yes, I was frustrated today, but that doesn’t mean tomorrow I won’t be on top of the world. Thank goodness. This, too, shall pass.

