Today was a long day at work, so by the time I got home, I was sleepy and hungry. I munched on some fruit and hummus with pita chips. When my roomie got home and started making some delicious smelling quesadillas, I left for yoga because I know temptation is a mutha. I went and filled up and got to yoga super early. Better to be at the yoga studio than at home watching Otter stuff her face.

While I was there, I started perusing the book, Guruji, by Guy Donahaye and Eddie Stern. I need to get that book ASAP. I want to know about my beloved Guruji, whom I have never met, but to whom I owe so much. It is because of his devotion and belief in Ashtanga yoga that I have found a way to peace. I read an excerpt from R. Sharath talking about yoga in the West and it was so applicable to what I’m experiencing now during this chapter of my life.

One of the things that fascinated me was the discussion of parampara, the passing of knowledge from teacher to student. The excerpt that I read emphasized this sacred tradition and it made me wonder: who is my Guru? When will I meet him? I know I shouldn’t rush the process and that my Guru will appear, as all things do, when I am ready.

I found comfort in knowing that Guruji’s prescription for everything was just to simply practice. Tired? Practice. Hurt? Practice. Sad? Practice. Practice and let the truth of this practice transform you. Do your practice and all is coming. By focusing and being disciplined, one is able to attain self-realization, what we all secretly long for and maybe we don’t know it.

With that, I went into the Ashtanga Basics with an open mind and an open heart. I wanted to fall in love with my breathe, marvel at my body, and give God thanks for my practice. Yoga is a form of worship because by stilling the waters of the mind, one is able to hear God’s voice clearly.

Although we did not perform all of the asanas in the primary series, I felt for once like my old self again. I didn’t feel like I was trapped in my body. I felt like I was one with my body. I felt alive.

“I wish that I could have this moment for life.” — Nicki Minaj

