I had a hard day at work today. I met with a student by the name of Joe. 18 years old. Good looking young man. He is facing 3 criminal charges that could land him in prison for the next 50 years. He debated whether or not going to school was even worth his time if he is going to eventually be locked up. It took everything inside of me to hold it together. In him, I saw my saw my first love who is currently serving a prison term until our 42nd birthday. He will turn 28 on the 26th of this month. How can you show someone that the sun is shining if all he’s ever seen is clouds? How can you show someone that anything is possible when all he’s  seen is limits in his life? How do you speak life into them without sounding judgmental and patronizing? It took everything in me not to burst into tears.

I am so grateful that God spared me a life of misery. I am grateful that I have the opportunity to positively impact people like Joe, even if it’s nothing more than a kind word of encouragement. I am grateful that I create my own story and that I have so many opportunities, including the opportunity to practice Ashtanga yoga. This practice has shown me firsthand how what we consider IMPOSSIBLE little by little turns into something POSSIBLE through dedication, focus, and determination.

I dedicated my practice to Joe today. I gave it my all and said a quiet prayer for him during child’s pose. I exhaled and after finishing my practice, I enjoyed a restful Savasana. I felt peace in my spirit because I knew that all of my good energy was with an 18 year old who touched my life today. I feel myself coming alive in the practice and I am grateful for what the future holds.

