Sorry I wasn’t able to post last night, but after mysore I headed over to Kona Grill for dinner. It was a great practice that I dedicated to another one of my students, Chris. Chris has everything in the world going for him. He is good looking and intelligent. He is just caught up in the matrix. He has a past that is currently affecting his present and future. He hasn’t worked in 5-6 years because of this past. He is beyond frustration and the beautiful soul that he really is currently lies buried underneath the weight of his worries. One of the things that Chris has a hard time with is feedback. Because he has been down for so long he doesn’t see the reason to make any effort at all because life has kicked him down every time he has tried to get up. He has set so many limits on his life and refuses to cross those boundaries.

I felt a little like Chris Brooks during my practice yesterday. The instructor gave me feedback regarding the following —

1) transitioning into Warrior 1 during Sun Salutation B

2) adjusting myself into an asana instead of flowing into the pose naturally

3) pushing thru the entire primary series. My practice has evolved little by little like adding on beads to a necklace once the first ones have settled nicely on the string. I usually only go up to Bhuja Pidasana and then hit the finishing asanas. He said that I should push thru until the end because the series is designed to balance me and all asanas are necessary.

He told me the story of how a woman started cutting the ends of her roast off before cooking because she had always seen her mother doing it. So one day she asks her mom the purpose of this and the mother replies that she doesn’t know. Her mother always did it. So the mother asks the grandmother. The grandmother doesn’t know why she does it either, so she asks the great grandmother. Turns out that the pan that the great grandmother had was too small so she always cut the ends off.

Feedback is a hard pill to swallow unless we’ve reached enlightenment and have been able to detach completely from our ego. However, I think of what one of my friends said about dance instructors. She said, “If they stop correcting you, that’s when you should worry. That means they think you’ve gone the farthest you can go and don’t even bother to say anything.”

