“Fight for your freedom” flashed thru my mind as I was doing my last backbend in today’s practice. Part of me wanted to quit because I was exhausted, but the other part of me knew that as long as I continued to be lazy I would also continue to be mediocre and bound. Makes sense that I value freedom. I am a Sagittarius, after all. We are notorious for going to great lengths to be free. I dedicated my practice today to Eddie, who turns 28 on Wednesday, and who will spend approximately 13 more birthdays locked up.

The instructor is going to India next week and won’t be back for another 6 weeks. She will be assisting in a teacher training and also she will be teaching yoga to former victims of sex trafficking. I thought that was amazing. May she be blessed not only by her individual practice, but by the practices that she has the honor of influencing.

Let me not pray to be sheltered from dangers, but to be fearless in facing them.

Let me not beg for the stilling of my pain, but for the heart to conquer it.

Let me not crave in anxious fear to be saved, but hope for the patience to win my freedom.

~Rabindranath Tagore

 

