Sometimes in yoga it’s so easy for me to take myself seriously and get down on myself. Today was one of those days. I found myself lamenting my body (why isn’t it thinner, more muscular, less flabby) and wondering if this lackluster guided practice is establishing bad habits in form and function. I wondered if I should try another form of exercise or a different style of yoga.

Then I realized: the honeymoon stage is over. My practice is real. My commitment will be tested. My faith will be tested. I will be tested. I will be called upon by my higher self to join it by consciously deciding to stay in this moment, to hold unfailingly to something greater than myself.

Yoga is asking me to be better than I think I can. It is asking me to have faith in myself, to accept my imperfections, and to love myself just as God loves me. I am flawed. I am human. But I have never felt more beautiful in my life.

