Believe it or not, this week has been rough on me because of the infamous “spring forward.” I find myself going to bed at the same time (which is now an hour later) only to wake up an hour earlier. However, the 6 PM Ashtanga Basics was amazing today because it was still daylight outside. I think the daylight was something that I’ve been missing since I started practicing again in January. It revved me up. For a second, I thought I was in Kino’s 10 AM mysore class.

The guy next to me just moved to Dallas and hasn’t done Ashtanga in 6 years. I saw him struggle and mentally beat himself up because he wasn’t where he used to be. However, there were so many things that he did effortlessly that I struggle with. Just goes to show 1) our bodies are all different and they all have their strengths 2) the human body is resilient and yearns to be worked, twisted, stretched, challenged, and released.

I dedicated my practice today to LaVada. She is moving to Corpus Christi in search of an environment where she can do what she does best: teach and fish. She felt under-appreciated here and my heart goes out to her because I know what that feels like: to work so hard and to be taken advantage of because you are never really seen. I will miss her, but I know that just as I am now in a better place altogether, she will be, too. ¡Qué Dios me la bendiga!

